obedience in prayer

I came face to face with a monster of an 18 wheeler yesterday. It was on a mission of destruction headed straight for me. And I stood dumbfounded with the ultimate reality of my life.

Well, this 18 wheeler wasn’t in the form of a truck, but in the form of spoken word. Words from the pulpit yesterday morning that seared my soul and awakened my realization that my prayer life is not where it should be. As a congregation, we were encouraged to make an infinite prayer list to pray through weekly.
Ouch!
Oh, my prayer life is very active and alive. I love nothing more than just wrapping myself into the Lord throughout the day. We have the sweetest conversations, and He encourages me and moves me closer to His presence with each whisper in my ear.

But, I am guilty of not remembering all those from the uncountable prayer lists from Sunday school, discipleship, Wednesday night youth and prayer services and the countless other requests made.
My three favorite tangible objects in this world are God’s word, a pen and paper. So, just maybe, if I take this challenge, I will be more obedient to God’s calling to pray for others. There is something about writing things down, especially in ink, that make them more permanent. And, hopefully, more permanent on my heart.
I’ve started my prayer list……Now it’s your turn!

With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints, Ephesians 6:18

Leave a Reply

