When I walked into my house today after church, I was startled.  Startled that it was still messy and cluttered as before we left for church. We are in the middle of moving to another house, but my expectations of an orderly home has not deminished.  I had secretly hoped that someone, even a stranger, might have decided to come organize everything for me while we were out.  I was wrong.  But it did remind me of the pastor’s message today on Galatians 2:17-21.  In this passage, Peter was being disobedient and leading people back to living under the bondage of the law, instead of living free in the gift of grace.

Paul called Peter out!  And guess what?  God called me out!  God called me out for my attitude over my messy, cluttered house.  In seconds, Galatians 2:21 flooded my soul:

I do not set aside the grace of God; for if righteousness comes through the law, then Christ died in vain.  Galatians 2:21

Ouch!  I had set God’s grace aside.  He gave me my home and all of that messy, cluttered stuff as well.  Most importantly, He gave me the perfect gift of salvation.  And this cluttered mess, could never compare to my mess before He saved me.

God, never let me set aside your grace for imperfect expectations I put on my life.  Your grace is sufficient…….Amen

Leave a Reply

